University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Schulich honours faculty and staff success

Annual awards recognize excellence in teaching, research and service at holiday gathering

Lisha Hassanali
Schulich's annual holiday celebration on December 16 acknowledged staff and faculty who contributed to the school’s success in 2016. Photo by Jae Im for the Schulich School of Engineering

The annual Schulich School of Engineering holiday event brought together faculty and staff to celebrate an outstanding year of success. The school also honoured individuals for their contributions to promote engineering leadership in teaching, research and service. 

“The faculty and staff members recognized today help make Schulich one of the best engineering schools in Canada,” said Bill Rosehart, dean of the Schulich School of Engineering. “We have much to celebrate, our efforts toward student success, research excellence and to foster diversity have made 2016 an exceptional year for the school.”

The awards acknowledge the dedication of faculty and staff as well as graduate students who excel as teaching assistants.

“As a school community we have worked hard to make 2016 truly memorable,” said Bethe Andreasen, director of operations. “There has been participation on so many levels with staff reaching beyond to help others and participate as a community. I want to thank each and every staff and faculty member for everything you do for this school.”

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Schulich School of Engineering Excellence Awards:


Distinguished Collaborator          

  • Richard Baker
  • Dr. Brian Keay

Distinguished Lifetime Leadership           

  • Dr. Jim Haslett

Donna Geekie Service   

  • Julie Nagy Kovacs
  • Jennifer Lawtey

Early Research Excellence            

  • Dr. Nashaat Nassar
  • Dr. Jianxun (Jennifer) He
  • Dr. Seonghwan (Sam) Kim

Excellence in Leadership              

  • Carla Grundison

Excellence in Teaching & Research          

  • Brandon Ferguson
  • Phuong (Paige) Deitsch

Mentoring Excellence  

  • Dr. Gordon Moore

Safety and Sustainability Contribution   

  • Daniel Forre

Teaching Assistant Excellence

  • Amjad El-Qanni, Chemical and Petroleum
  • Yoshinori Casas, Chemical and Petroleum          
  • Erin Karh, Geomatics
  • Mostafa Arastounia, Geomatics
  • Willem Klumpenhouwer, Civil  
  • Scott McKean, Civil                           
  • Jonathan Kwan, Electrical and Computer
  • Mohamed Abdelra Mohamed, Electrical and Computer
  • William Schyler Hinman, Mechanical and Manufacturing            
  • Amirhossein Hamedzadeh, Mechanical and Manufacturing                        
  • Sepideh Afkhami Goli, Common Core
  • Fernando Trejo Torress, Common Core

Teaching Excellence

  • Dr. Mikchael Foley, Chemical and Petroleum    
  • Dr. Naser El-Sheimy, Geomatics
  • Dr. Jeffrey Priest, Civil
  • Seyed Pouyan (Yani) Jazayeri, Electrical and Computer
  • Dr. Christopher Morton, Mechanical and Manufacturing
  • Dr. Markus Dann, Common Core               

Outstanding Teacher Award      

  • Dr. Christopher Morton