Leo Belostotski


Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering


University of Alberta, 1997


University of Alberta, 2000


University of Calgary, 2007

Contact information


Office: 403.210.5426

Web presence

Website at UofC



CMOS Analog Circuit Design (ENEL 567)

Analog Integrated Circuit Design (ENEL 647)


RF Integrated Circuit Design (ENEL 617)

Preferred method of communication

Please contact me by email.


Research areas

  • RF and mm-wave integrated circuits
  • High-sensitivity receivers
  • Beamforming

Research activities

Our research areas of focus include various aspects of RF and mm-wave circuits and systems, mixed-signal circuits, and beamforming networks. We have demonstrated ultra-sensitive room-temperature low-noise amplifiers (LNAs), novel noise-parameter measurement systems, new types of analog-to-digital converts, and unique beamforming solutions. For more information please contact Dr. Belostotski.

LNA survey can be found here. To cite, please use: L. Belostotski et al. "Low-noise-amplifier (LNA) performance survey." [Online]. Available: https://www.ucalgary.ca/lbelosto


Leonid Belostotski received BSc and MSc degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, Canada, in 1997 and 2000, respectively, and PhD degree from the University of Calgary, Calgary, AB, Canada, in 2007. He was an RF Engineer with Murandi Communications Ltd., Calgary, from 2001 to 2004. He is currently a professor with the University of Calgary and holds the Canada Research Chair in High-Sensitivity Radiometers and Receivers. His current research interests include RF and mixed-signal ICs, high-sensitivity receiver systems, antenna arrays, and terahertz systems. Dr. Belostotski was a recipient of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques-11 Contest on Creativity and Originality in Microwave Measurements in 2008 and the Outstanding Student Designer Award from Analog Devices, Inc., in 2007. He is the IEEE Southern Alberta Solid-State, Circuits and Circuits and Systems Chapter’s Chair. He was previously an associate editor of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT. He is the editor-in-chief of the IEEE SOLID-STATE CIRCUITS MAGAZINE.

Team members:

  • Zhixing (Lincoln) Zhao, Ph.D., January 2010 to present (Co-supervised with Dr. Magierowski) (ICs)
  • Donuwan Navaratne, Ph.D., September 2012 to present (Low noise GPS receiver)
  • Nan Zhang, Ph.D., September 2014 to present (ICs, THz receivers);
  • Thisara Kulatunga, Ph.D., July 2018 to present (radio astronomy receivers and ADCs)
  • Alex Sheldon, Ph.D., September 2016 to present (cryo LNAs, radio astronomy receivers)
  • Hao Xie, Ph.D., January 2017 to present (Multi-beam beamforming)
  • Mohammad Radpour, Ph.D., July 2017 to present (Noise shaping beamforming)
  • Roshaan Ali, MSc, January 2018 to present (Beamforming)
  • Mohamed Bala, PhD, September 2017 to present (Co-supervised with Dr. Maundy) (Filters)
  • Zahra Kabirkhoo, PhD, September 2019 to present (ADCs)
  • Mark Lai, MSc, September 2019 to present (LNAs)


  • Dr. Sanjeev Jain (THz and RF VCOs), May 2016 - Aug 2017
  • Dr. Ge Wu, (High speed ADCs), Jan. 2015 - Oct 2017
  • Dr. Mukesh Kulsreshath (THz bolometers and receivers) Feb. 15 - Mar. 2016
  • Dr. Yongsheng Xu, Postdoc (ADC ICs), Jan. 2010 - Dec. 2013
  • Dr. Rashdan, Postdoc Co-supervised with Dr. Haslett) (SerDes)
  • Dr. Mahbub Reja, Postdoc (ICs, LNAs, filters) May 2011-Sep. 2011
  • Dr. Rola Baki, Postdoc (ICs, LNAs) Jan. 2010-Dec. 2011


GREAT Supervisor Award, 2016

Schulich School of Engineering Research Excellence Award, 2015

Outstanding Teaching Performance (multiple years)