Department contacts

Department of Civil Engineering

Mailing address:
ENF 262, 2500 University Drive NW, Calgary, AB T2N 1N4

Street address:
622 Collegiate Place NW, Calgary, AB T2N 4V8

Campus location:
Canadian Natural Resources Limited Engineering Complex (EN), Room ENF 262


Undergraduate admissions

Contact the Engineering Student Centre

Graduate admissions

Contact the Civil Engineering Department

Meet our leadership team

Dr. Jocelyn Hayley, Department Head


Julie Nagy Kovacs, Manager of Operations


Dr. Neil Duncan, Associate Head of Undergraduate Studies


Dr. Markus Dann, Associate Head of Graduate Studies


Dr. Patrick Hettiaratchi, Associate Head of Research


Administrative and technical staff

Donald Anson, Civil Engineering Technologist

Mirsad Berbic, Civil Engineering Technologist

Zena Blais, Undergraduate Administrative Assistant

Daniel Larson, Environmental Technologist

Janelle McConnell, Graduate Program Administrator

Julie Nagy Kovacs, Manager of Operations

Terry Quinn, Materials Technologiest

Chrissy Thatcher, Project Administrator

Daniel Tilleman, Civil Engineering Technologist

Professors, Associate/Assistant Professors, Senior Instructors/Instructors

Dr. Gopal Achari, Professor, Associate Dean (Graduate Studies; Research)
View profile >

Dr. Kerry Black, Assistant Professor
View profile >

Dr. Angus Chu, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Markus Dann, Assistant Professor, Associate Head (Graduate Studies)
View profile >

Dr. Alexandre De Barros, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Elena Di Martino, Associate Professor, Director (CBRE)
View profile >

Dr. Neil Duncan, Professor, Associate Head (Undergraduate Studies)
View profile >

Dr. Mamdouh El-Badry, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Raafat El-Hacha, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Jocelyn Hayley, Professor, Department Head
View profile >

Dr. Jianxun (Jennifer) He, Associate Professor
View profile >

Dr. Patrick Hettiaratchi, Professor, Associate Head (Research)
View profile >

Dr. John Hunt, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Martin Jasso, Assistant Professor
View profile >

Dr. George Jergeas, Professor, Director (CPME)
View profile >

Dr. Lina Kattan, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Rahil Khoshnazar, Assistant Professor
View profile >

Dr. Shelley Lissel, Associate Professor
View profile >

Dr. Jeffrey Priest, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Janaka Ruwanpura, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Farnaz Sadeghpour, Associate Professor
View profile >

Dr. Nigel Shrive, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Andrew Tay, Professor
View profile >

Jacqueline Vera, Instructor
View profile >

Dr. Richard Wan, Professor
View profile >

Dr. S. Chan Wirasinghe, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Ron Chik-Kwong Wong, Professor
View profile >

Dr. Qi Zhou, Assistant Professor
View profile >



Dr. Abdelsamie Elmenshawi, Adjunct Professor

Dr. John Hubbell, Adjunct Associate Professor

Dr. Donald Reid, Adjunct Assistant Professor

Dr. Caterina Valeo, Adjunct Professor


Professors Emeriti

Dr. Thomas Brown, Professor Emeritus

View profile >

Dr. Lynne Cowe Falls, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Walter Dilger, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Amin Ghali, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Bruce Jamieson, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Colin Johnston, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Ramesh Joshi, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Brian W. Langan, Associate Professor Emeritus

Dr. Robert Loov, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Marc Maes, Professor

Dr. Arthur McMullen, Professor Emeritus

Dr. John Morall, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Ludo Zanzotto, Professor Emeritus