June 30, 2020

2019-20 Graduate Award Winners

Celebrate Excellence

On 29 June 2020, the 2019-20 Graduate Awards were presented to the recipients by Dr. Michael Sideris, Associate Head Graduate Studies in an online session attended by graduate students, faculty and staff. Congratulations to all the winners for their hard work and dedication and thank you to all the supporters and donors for the continued contribution to the success of our students!

Graduate Awards

Here is the list of the Awards and recipients:

Graduate Award Competition (GAC)

Dean’s International Doctoral Recruitment Scholarship

  • Farzaneh Zangeneh-Nejad

Eyes High International Doctoral Recruitment Scholarship

  • Soroush Ojagh

Alberta Innovates Graduate Student Scholarship

  • Kent Jones
  • Mohamed Moussa
  • Shu Zhang

T. Chen Fong Doctoral Research Excellence Scholarship in Medical Imaging Science

  • Shu Zhang

Werner Graupe International Fellowship in Engineering

  • Chrysostomos Minaretzis
  • Dimitrios Piretzidis


Alberta Graduate Excellence Scholarship (AGES)

MSc Studies

  • David Jarron
  • Katherine Pexman
  • Paul Gratton

Doctoral Studies

  • Mohammad Razu Ahmed


  • Hani Mohammed
  • Ahmed Youssef
  • Emad Ghaleh Noei


Department Awards

L.R. (Dick) Newby Memorial Award

  • Dillon Pullano

Huangqi Sun Memorial Graduate Scholarship

  • Mohammad Razu Ahmed

Helmut Moritz Graduate Scholarship

  • Emad Ghaleh Noei

KIS-94 Graduate Scholarship

  • Chrysostomos Minaretzis

Institute of Navigation (ION) Graduate Award

  • Sharareh (Asal) Naghdi

Institute of Navigation (ION) Graduate Award

  • Cheng Huang

Institute of Navigation (ION) Alberta Section Graduate Award

  • Cheng Huang

Institute of Navigation (ION) National Graduate Award

  • Cheng Huang


Mitacs-Accelerate Graduate Research Internship

  • Camilo Esteban Cortes Rubio
  • Mohammad Hassanein


Teaching Assistant Recognition Award

  • Hani Mohammed
  • Rodrigo Augusto de Oliveira E Silva
  • Lingyi Cui


Congratulations to all our 2019-20 Graduate Award Winners!