University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Research Chairs and Professorships

Spread across all five departments, the research chairs at the Schulich School of Engineering are a measure of the school's research excellence and stature. Focus areas include: biomedical engineering, energy, new earth-space technologies and environmental engineering. Watch videos about our NSERC Industrial Research Chairs, and learn how their energy and environmental innovations can transform our society for generations to come.

Chair Chairholder
Canada Excellence Research Chair in Materials Engineering for Unconventional Oil Reservoirs Steven Bryant
NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Solvent Enhanced Recovery Processes Jalal Abedi
NSERC/Foundation CMG/AI-EES Industrial Research Chair in Reservoir Simulation & AITF iCore Chair in Reservoir Modelling

John Chen

NSERC Industrial Research Chair/AITF Industry Chair in Modelling Fundamentals of Unconventional Resources

Apostolos Kantzas

NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Novel CO2 Capture Technologies for Oil Sands Operations

Nader Mahinpey

NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Catalysis for Bitumen Upgrading

Pedro Pereira Almao

NSERC/ENMAX Industrial Research Chair in Renewable Energy

David Wood

NSERC/City of Calgary Industrial Research Chair in Advanced Technologies for Wastewater Treatment

Joo-Hwa (Andrew) Tay

NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Heavy Oil Properties and Processing

Harvey Yarranton

Tier I Canada Research Chair in Geomatics Multi-Sensor Systems Naser El-Sheimy
Tier I Canada Research Chair/iCORE Professor in Intelligent RF Radio Technology Fadhel Ghannouchi
Tier I Canada Research Chair in Wastewater Engineering Joo-Hwa (Andrew) Tay
Tier II Canada Research Chair in High Sensitivity Radiometers and Receivers Leo Belostotski
Zandmer/Tier II Canada Research Chair in Hydrogen and Catalysis Josephine Hill
Tier II Canada Research Chair in Nano Sensing Systems Seonghwan (Sam) Kim
Tier II Canada Research Chair in Gas Hydrates Jeffrey Priest
Tier II Canada Research Chair in Biomaterials Tannin Schmidt
Schulich Chair in GIS and Environmental Monitoring  
Schulich Chair in Geostatistics Jerry Jensen
Research Chair in Land Tenure and Cadastral Studies Mike Barry
iCORE Chair in Integrated Sensors and Intelligent Systems Orly Yadid-Pecht
Alvin Libin/Alberta Ingenuity Chair in Biomedical Engineering Michal Okoniewski
iCORE Chair in Advanced Technology Information Processing Systems Jim Haslett
AITF/iCORE Strategic Chair in Multi-Modality Imaging & Sensing Elise Fear
AITF/iCORE Strategic Chair in Sensing and Monitoring Simon Park
AITF Tier 1 Strategic Chair Advanced Diagnostics and Devices for Assessing and Monitoring Joint Health and Dynamic Function Janet Ronsky
Encana/Petroleum Society of CIM Endowed Chair in Petroleum Engineering S.M. Farouq Ali
Chair in Engineering Education Innovation Ron Hugo
Transmission Electric Industry Chair Andy Knight
Urban Alliance Professorship in Transportation Systems Optimization Lina Kattan
Suncor Energy Chair in Design Engineering Education Bill Rosehart / Bob Brennan